You are currently viewing the old forums. We have upgraded to a new NFL Forum.
This old forum is being left as a read-only archive.
Please update your bookmarks to our new forum at forums.footballsfuture.com.

FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FootballsFuture.com Forum Index
FootballsFuture.com Home

Question for the NBA fans
Goto page 1, 2  Next

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    FootballsFuture.com Forum Index -> Basketball
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DeSean Jackson

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:15 pm    Post subject: Question for the NBA fans Reply with quote

Whatsup guys, I'm new to the NBA as I just recently started taken interest in the sport. I'm confused on the cap and how it works. I see teams wanting to sign players in FA, but they have to shed salary first? Why can't they just go over the cap and use the luxury tax? And how can warriors resign all those people without any cap space? I think luxury tax is very dumb and if it was taken out it'll end the super team stuff. They should make it a hard cap. But can someone please explain it to me? Thanks.
11sanchez11

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Why can't they just go over the cap and use the luxury tax? And how can warriors resign all those people without any cap space?

You can only go over the salary cap if you are signing (resigning) guys that are already on your team.

More specifically, I think you can only go over the salary cap if you are signing guys whose Bird Rights you have. Might be wrong here tho.

El ramster on the sig

Last edited by 11sanchez11 on Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:30 pm; edited 2 times in total
MKnight82

PostPosted: Wed Jun 28, 2017 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote