Discuss football with over 60,000 fans. Free Membership. Join now!

 FAQFAQ  RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FootballsFuture.com Forum Index
FootballsFuture.com Home

Clarification/explanation please

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FootballsFuture.com Forum Index -> Oakland Raiders
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
early43


Joined: 06 Feb 2010
Posts: 1111
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:42 am    Post subject: Clarification/explanation please Reply with quote

Apologies if this is in another thread...

So that blocked punt we had against SD, which resulted in SD first down... how does that work out? I was under that impression that the punting team could only recover the ball to stop the receiving team from advancing downfield. As I can recall, I have never seen a blocked punt result in a first down for a kicking team in my life.

Maybe I've just never been aware of the rule though.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Baggabonez


Joined: 29 Apr 2010
Posts: 5931
Location: RaiderNation
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iirc, the ball was blocked and continued to move forward where it was recovered beyond the SD 1st down marker.
_________________
Nodisrespect on building inside out wrote:
teams without highly draft DT's make the playoffs and win the superbowl regularly.

Bonez wrote:
Teams that win Superbowls and make the playoffs aren't picking in the Top 5, clearly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAlDER NATlON


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 33
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, it was a blocked field goal (wasn't it)... Technically change of possession doesn't happen until the ball crosses the line of scrimmage. After the block, SD recovered the ball on their side of the line, then advanced it for a 1st down.
_________________
[img] [/img]


bigjayboogie wrote:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
big_palooka


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 22609
Location: ATL
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Baggabonez wrote:
Iirc, the ball was blocked and continued to move forward where it was recovered beyond the SD 1st down marker.


Incorrect. It was blocked and the ball was behind the line of scrimmage which allows the kicking team to advance it.

If the ball was blocked but land in from of the LOS, it's a dead ball.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stix101


Joined: 31 Jul 2010
Posts: 280
Location: Ohio
PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

big_palooka wrote:
Baggabonez wrote:
Iirc, the ball was blocked and continued to move forward where it was recovered beyond the SD 1st down marker.


Incorrect. It was blocked and the ball was behind the line of scrimmage which allows the kicking team to advance it.

If the ball was blocked but land in from of the LOS, it's a dead ball.

Correct. And I have seen this happen before. My Junior year of high school football. It helped us win the game.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drfrey13


Joined: 14 Oct 2010
Posts: 240
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For clarification does the kick need to be blocked by the other team or does it just need to be recovered by the kicking team before it crosses the line of scrimmage? Only ask because it could come into play in trick plays.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic    FootballsFuture.com Forum Index -> Oakland Raiders All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group